Act like a Lady, Network like Men

Part V
Gisele L. Kennedy, PYT

Hey MIT’s, sorry it took me so long to post.  I thought I would do something a little different, take a break from my usual format and take the time to answer a question from one of our readers.  It goes a little something like…

…I a single parent of two girls have always had the ambition to start my own business; but I work and run a full house with a hectic schedule…where do I begin? I have a circle of like-minded people. I have the confidence but do I have what it takes to go for it. I’m pretty sure I don’t stand alone…Help a single parent out!!!!

Single Parent, after reading your question, one statement sticks out like a Vegas billboard.  You say you have the confidence and the circle of like-minded friends, but in the same breath you turn around and say, “…but do I have what it takes to go for it?”  Of course you do!!   Unfortunately, what you have done in those eleven little words is totally contradict your own belief.  Despite reading your whole question, all I hear is “I don’t think I have what it takes.”  Unacceptable!

Let me remind you that the focus of this segment of Chic Women in Business is to help empower women with an entrepreneurial spirit to step out on faith!  Additionally, we want you to push past the limits sometimes placed on women because of gender discrimination.  It’s about stepping outside of the box and getting creative about attacking roadblocks.  To that end, I am going to ask you to go back and read or reread the previous posts in the Act Like a Lady, Network Like a Man series.  I am also going to ask that you make sure you check the email sent to you by the administrator of this blog outlining some of the steps to take in an effort to get your business of the ground.

The remainder of this post will list a few pointers for those business moms who are precariously balancing family life and everything else under the sun.  Before I get to that, I want to tell you that children are resilient and they don’t really require much.  However, one of the best things you can provide them with is a strong example of what hard work and perseverance can do.   Although I am not a parent, I happen to know on good authority that most moms would love their sons AND daughters to have the pride and confidence it takes to pursue their hopes and dreams.   Wouldn’t it be awesome if you could be that example?   Think about that for a minute.   Imagine that speech they may make one day while proudly stating, “I owe it all to you Mom, what a strong example you were!”   Feels good doesn’t it?   So Single Parent, no excuses, let’s get crackin’!

Family First

  1. Pick your battles with your girls.  Some things just aren’t as important as chasing your dreams.  Where you would normally spend an few minutes here and there trying to get them to organize their rooms like you would like, maybe a best effort tidying will suffice in the meantime.
  2. Try to find a balance.  I know this is as elusive as a unicorn, but your best efforts will ensure that you get to address both family and business as much as you can.
  3. Be firm with boundaries.  When you are working on developing your business, let your girls, work and anyone else that wants a piece of you, know that you cannot be everywhere at once.
  4. Say bye bye to guilt.  I think that is self-explanatory.  I really cannot tell you how to feel, but I think that as long as your children’s basic needs are met and their day to day schedules aren’t disrupted too much, saying no sometimes, or even more than usual, will not kill them.  Mom has things to do too!

Building a Business

  1. Sacrifice.  I know it seems like you are already sleep deprived, but you may have to sacrifice a few more hours of shut eye.  Remember in my initial response, I asked you to brainstorm on when you have extra time to dedicate to pursuing your dream.  When we slackers are sleeping, you may have to be working.  Just remember, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
  2. Network aggressively.  Reread previous posts hereJ.  This will be even more important for those of us with busy schedules.
  3. Become knowledgeable.  I cannot emphasize this enough.  Subscribe to trade magazines in the area you are trying to pursue, conduct research and speak to people in your industry.  Know everything that there is to know about what you are doing.
  4. Believe in yourself whole heartedly.  Without a shadow of a doubt this is the most important thing I have to offer you.  I had a college friend who used to always say, “Believe it, receive it, aaacccchiiiievvvvveeeee it!”  She became a mom, works a full-time job and started an event planning business.  IJS!

Additional Links for Help on the Subject

–         http://voices.yahoo.com/are-single-mom-want-start-business-no-money-2048596.html

–         http://www.ehow.com/way_5367829_grants-single-mothers-starting-business.html

–         http://smallbusiness.chron.com/assistance-single-mothers-wanting-start-business-22407.html

http://www.cdfifund.gov/what_we_do/programs_id.asp?programID=7

About CWIB Network

Chic Women in Business was founded for Women in Charge of there lives, family, careers and most importantly themselves. Our Mission is to Network and bring women together whom are in Business for themselves with other women who are on the same accord.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Act like a Lady, Network like Men

  1. Single Parent says:

    Gisele. Thanks for your response; however I think you misinterpeted my response. First off I have support and a good circle of networks. I don’t lack the confidence. I ask myself do I have what it takes to start my bussiness now financially?? That’s the question. The market and ecomony these days are risky? And the banks think the same way. I ASK can I sacarfice to plunge or to give my girls the the deserved life?… My girls knows the value of a dollar and work around the house for chores given to them. Set a example Yes! is my desired result. Going into a bussiness in a unsteady market is not the example to set. Now cutting back on lifestyle is a change and reachable means to suffice….I don’t know your situation but raising a family and being a great role is not as easy as read or said… I haven’t had a chance to respond to the email I recieved… But I must say cutting back and girls outtings are coming to a slight halt. Starting off a good foot to stand???.You think? Hope to hear more insight from u?

  2. Single Parent says:

    Thanks for the email..It contains good info..Now time to step out with a safety harness and apply what was read and sent… Have anyone though about starting a investment club?? A good way to network and connect and keep abreast of the market while venturing into a bussiness??… Lets work together?? Idea train just left the station full steam ahead….ALL ABOARD!!!… What ya think…ijs?

    • CWIB Network says:

      I’m glad you found the information helpful! and I like the idea of an investment club, I’m interested to hear more.
      Also, you will receive your Chic Women in Training package via email, please let me know if you have any questions!

  3. Single Parent says:

    Thanks….awaiting ur next post… And will touch back shortly… Weekend,school…etc.with more detail

  4. Single Parent says:

    Regarding the investment club its sorta the same concept of having a group of like mnded ppl in a particular field or industry get together and network on who’s who and what is what?…I suggest that if you a investor or an accountant or someone with knowledge and know how in ur circle; have them host an event. Come together and invest mutal funds relating to ur field etc… Or even invest outside the box. Appoint someone to record minutes, designate a treasurer and open a group account with members paying a dollar?? Amount and putting that money to work…. First thing first is getting everyone in ur circle n the same accord… Right??? More to come and yes why cant we all get a piece of the pie…lol.. What’s your feedback Gisele and CWIB?

  5. Gisele says:

    Single Parent, I actually understand you so very well. Ultimately, we have the same fears. All I can say is, no I am not a parent. What we do have in common, however, is that we have to sacrifice significantly in order to reach our goals. No one can compare what we are sacrificing. However, I cannot highlight the phrase, nothing ventured, nothing gained enough. You will never know unless you try. Try something new and expect different results. Children are resilient and only require love, food and shelter. Know that the struggle will be short lived. Ask yourself if you took a hit, can you recover? I understand being realistic and assessing risk, in business it is smart to do that. However, why not step out on faith with the belief (there’s that confidence again) that you will NOT fail? Economists are repeatedly telling us that small businesses are going to be the key in helping us out of THIS cycle of the economy. To that end, there are all types of existing programs and developing programs out there for the taking. Be ahead of the trend. Strategize. Remember, I was laid off for 7 months with a mortgage. I planned and assessed risk. In September I stated that April would be my drop dead date when life would start to get very scary (I prayed to my God). On April 1, I was offered a job that I believe will be a stepping stone to reaching my goals.

    WE beleive in you. I know you can do this. I look forward to watching you grow! Think like a man. Pound on your chest and demand your destiny :).

    An investment club sounds awesome. Lets research. I once heard of a website called Stilettos and Stocks. Its a webiste for women on investing. It may help. Keep in touch.

  6. Single Parent says:

    I have questions?…Are there any local chapters around or is CWIB in one location?.. Do you have annual or quartly seminars or meetings to meet and greet wth members and actually network. Lastly, Gisele you were on a momentum when u first started posted, what happen….Readers are waiting to hear whats new..Remember not everyone that read blogs don’t always post.. Anywho readers are waiting….Remember invest in urself,invest in what u truely believe and we all have to grow up someday…”have do fit in where we get in” So we won’t be left alone? Looking foward to your response??? “lets get crakkin”…Enjoy this Monday

  7. Single Parent says:

    Email recieved thank you!….I’m actually working on getting my network circle together all at once to implement a investment club spun off of clothes,food,cars, and thing we do and enjoy everyday and other commodites etc… to start off with…Lets invest in CWIB as Whole and hit the market…GO Public…..lol…Yes lets research!!!

    • CWIB Network says:

      Sounds Awesome Natrlgrl4U, GO FOR IT!!! Please let me know if you have any questions regarding the Business side, I am here to help! I will be in contact via email regarding the Investment Club, Gisele and I are doing some research now, we will be in touch soon!

  8. Single Parent says:

    Sounds great

  9. Gisele L. Kennedy says:

    I love the momentum ladies! Lets make sure we continue to inspire each other! In turn, maybe we will be an inspiration for others.

Leave a Reply

